A taste of Korea in India

I’m back after a long hiatus, I guess. 🙂 I FINALLY re-installed my internet connection and it is to stay for quite a while,I think.

Life sure sucks when you lose your internet priviledges. During this time I couldn’t actually find a term for my ‘no-internet’ condition. Then I remembered my archaeology professor who calls herself a “fossil” since she is old, I guess, I can say that my blog/s were in a “fossilized” state all this time and now it gonna get resurrected. Be prepared for more posts and what I have been into all these time when I was missing in action.

So… today’s post is about my experiences at the Korean Cultural Center India. The KCCI was founded very recently (Dec’12) …and since then have been a very great source for anyone interested in learning more about Korean culture. I came to know about it when I attended the Delhi University Korean Students Union movie festival called the “Korean Irresistible Movie Festival” held on the 1st of March this year. I attended the fest once before, it was the year before last.

Now, my craze for the “Hallyu Wave” had been since 2007. (Korean movies and dramas have been very popular in the NorthEast of India since the mid-2000’s). It started with the very popular Korean movies and dramas like A Millionaire’s First Love, My Little Bride,  Full House, Princess Hours(Goong), Stairway to Heaven to name a few. So knowing about the Korean Cultural Center India and the very idea of being able to learn the language and their culture better has been one of the best things ever. I HAD to register myself for the language course rightaway and now the Samulnori Workshop. The Samulnori Workshop is demonstrated by Park Eun Ha from the National Gugak Center, Korea.

The workshop is held for 10 days at the moment… and it has been a very wonderful and refreshing experience. Here is a video of us practicing. (I didn’t realize that a video had been taken and uploaded online…but since  I discovered it now, I might as well upload it). The video was taken on the 1st day and I guess the first 10-20mins of the beginning of the workshop. You can see me missing some beats when compared to the rest of the group. Nevertheless, it was a joyful experience and I have the remaining 9 days to enjoy and live it to the fullest.

        

Okay….. I guess I did a little better in this other video. hehe

Leave a comment